1601th Draft GSW meeting minutes 8 May 2024

The last GSW meeting of the Spring was held at the Cosmos Club.

President Dan Doctor called the meeting to order at 8:05 PM

Guests: Callan Bentley hosted ten students from Piedmon CC:1) Alexis Jones, 2) Kayla Johnson, 3) Hanan El Abbar, 4) Louise Mather, 5) Ivy Hill, 6) Griffin Matthews, 7) Kira Miller, 8) Morgana Bizier, 9) Andy Wharton, 10) Anneka Myers. Additional guests include Keller (UMD).

Three new members were announced.

One obituary was read, that of Randall McBride of George Mason U. Callan Bentley presented it. Dr. McBride was an expert on the geomorphology of the Mississippi Delta. He died of pancreatic cancer.

Two informal communications were delivered, both on the recent eclipse, one by Andy Campbell viewing it from the Carbondale, IL area, and the other by Mark Zerniak viewing it from the Finger Lakes in New York State.

Formal talk 1: Eli Moore (US Geological Survey) entitled 'Subsurface metaproteomics reveals diverse active microbial metabolisms in the Antrim Shale'. Dr. Moore, an AAAS policy fellow in 2017, and a UMD Ph.D, delivered a presentation on electron transfer processes in the 380 MA (Devonian) Antrim Shale. Questions from the floor were taken from G. Lederer (USGS), C. Bentley (Piedmont CC), K. Prestegaard (UMD), M. Ackerson (SI), and D. Doctor (USGS). 20 minutes

Formal talk 2: Roberta Rudnick (UC-Santa Barbara) entitled 'Metapelities in the lower crust beneath the Potrillo Volcanic Field provide insights into the mysterious 1.4 GA Picuris Orogeny'. Dr. Rudnick reported on the work of her graduate student Mary Reed on this enigmatic orogen. Questions from B. Rivers (SIO), L. Sammon (Mathworks), R. Walker (UMD), and E. Moore (USGS). 20 minutes

Formal talk 3: Adam Wallace (Univ of Delaware) entitled 'Reassessment of the roles of ion hydration and dehydration on the reactivity of the Calcite-Water interface'. Dr. Wallace reported on the work of student Tyler Schmidt. The approach was a forward flow sampling approach, and was funded by the Department of Energy. Questions from A. Jubb (USGS), G. Helz (UMD), J. Hammarstrom (USGS), L Sammon (Mathworks), E Moore (USGS), G. Lederer (USGS), and D. Doctor (USGS). 20 minutes

Meeting adjourned at 9:55 PM ET.